What are the twelve fruits of the holy spirit

What Are the 12 Fruits of the Holy Spirit?

what are the twelve fruits of the holy spirit

The Fruit of the Spirit - What's in the Bible?

what   with

Most Christians are familiar with the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit : wisdom, understanding, counsel, knowledge, piety, fear of the Lord, and fortitude. These gifts, granted to Christians at their baptism and perfected in the Sacrament of Confirmation, are like virtues: They make the person who possesses them disposed to make proper choices and to do the right thing. If the gifts of the Holy Spirit are like virtues, the fruits of the Holy Spirit are the actions that those virtues produce. Prompted by the Holy Spirit, through the gifts of the Holy Spirit we bear fruit in the form of moral action. In other words, the fruits of the Holy Spirit are works that we can perform only with the aid of the Holy Spirit.

Blessed by the Holy Spirit, all Christians are given the fruits and gifts that grant us our humanity, morality and ethics. Catholics believe that we are born with the 12 fruits of the Holy Spirit, and that the 7 gifts are first bestowed upon us at Baptism and strengthened at Confirmation. In this article we will be going over the nine biblical-based fruits of the Holy Spirit that overlap with the twelve traditional fruits and the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit, and their meanings. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. The Holy Spirit has infused us with the capacity for love.

Introduction: To discover the life-giving power of the Holy Spirit is one of the greatest experiences a human being can undergo. Consequently, here are ten suggestions for drawing closer to the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is laden with all the secrets of God — secrets not only of surpassing interest in themselves but of great import for the creature. These deep things of God the Holy Spirit is all eagerness to communicate to the soul, as in the tendency of friendship. Unfortunately, the creature, too often, is a listless and inattentive listener…. They belong in their fullness to Christ, Son of David.

Most translations of the above passage only list nine fruits, while the Latin Vulgate provides a list of 12 fruits, adding modesty, generosity, and chastity. But the fruit of the Spirit is, charity, joy, peace, patience, benignity, goodness, longanimity, m ildness, faith, modesty, continency, chastity. Against such there is no law Galatians Douay-Rheims. Christians are called to live a life of the Spirit, producing much fruit that is shown through our thoughts, words and deeds. This is the meaning that St. Paul is going for, as he spells out the nine characteristics as, simply, fruit singular of the Spirit.

Are there 9 or 12 fruits of the Holy Spirit?

A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, nor can a rotten tree bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire. - Alphonsus Liguori, Doctor of the Church Homepage Homepage Archives.

St. Paul in his letter to the Galatians lists specific “fruits” of the Holy Spirit, “the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness.
reba mcentire the night the lights went out in georgia



  1. Millaray O. says:

    … growth in holiness… growth in well-being… growth in knowledge

  2. Avenall D. L. V. says:

    Navigation menu

  3. Graciana Q. says:

    The fruits of the Holy Spirit are works that Christians can perform only through the promptings of the Holy Spirit. Learn about each of the 12 fruits.

  4. Thais M. says:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *